Celebrating the wealth of Australian music commissioned and performed by The Song Company over its illustrious 40-year history

Drawing inspiration from the iconic masterpiece by Peter Sculthorpe, "The Stars Turn" captures the essence of The Song Company's vibrant history, showcasing our rich tapestry of collaborations with some of the brightest stars of Australian music. From the mesmerising Elena Kats-Chernin to the intricate textures of Nigel Butterly and Katy Abbott, this program is a snapshot of The Song Company's musical milestones.

"The Stars Turn" also casts its gaze toward the future, with the next generation of composers whose talents light up the musical sky. Experience the innovative soundscapes of Alice Chance, Sonya Holowell and Chris Williams, and the debut of a mesmerising new work by Angus Davison.

Don't miss this extraordinary celebration of Australian musical creativity, past, present and future. Secure your tickets now and be part of this luminous constellation of sound.



Susannah Lawergren & Amy Moore, Sopranos    
Jessica O'Donoghue, Mezzo-Soprano   
Timothy Reynolds, Tenor 
Hayden Barrington, Baritone
Andrew O'Connor, Bass-Baritone


Peter Sculthorpe, arr. David Matthews – The Stars Turn (1970)
Martin Wesley-Smith – Who Stopped the Rain? (1990)
Stuart Greenbaum – A Cicada in the Blackbird's Beak, from Upon the Dark Water (1991)
Raffaele Marcellino – Memory, from Fish Tale (1995)
Elena Kats-Chernin – Mater (2000)
Nigel Butterly – Nightfall, from Paradise Unseen (2001)
Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen – Bats' Ultrasound, from Four Madrigals from the Natural World (2001)
Andrew Ford  – At Night on the Beach; Sleep; Hear the Bird of Day, from Australian Aphorisms (2012/13)
Katy Abbot – Flying (2015)
Alice Chance – Untitled (2019)
Ross Edwards – O Magnum Mysterium, from Vespers for Mother Earth (2020)
Sonya Holowell – Playground (2022)
Angus Davison – Lime Song (2024) 

The Stars Turn Program PDF

Tour Details


Wheelchair Access

Dates & Times

Newcastle – Harold Lobb Concert Hall (Newcastle Conservatorium) Fri 14 June 2024 - 6:00 pm
Wollongong – St Francis Xavier Cathedral Sat 15 June 2024 - 3:00 pm
Canberra – Wesley Music Centre Sun 30 June 2024 - 3:00pm
Hobart - Ian Potter Recital Hall at The Hedberg Thu 4 July 2024 - 8pm
Berry - Uniting Church Hall Fri 5 July 2024 - 7pm


Adult $59.00
Senior/Concession $59.00
Concession/Under 35 $39.00
Student $20.00


Wesley Music Centre

20-22 National Circuit, Forrest ACT 2603

Get directions

You might also be interested in...